Student Leadership@OAS

Student Leadership at OAS

At Onewhero Area School we believe all students can show leadership. Leadership skills are developed through out the school as part of their every day learning and within specific student leadership positions. Students also show leadership by having an active say in school decision making through the student council and discussion groups that are established for specific reasons. 

2023 Senior School Leaders

Joe Thackham

Joe Thackham

Head Student

Cordelia Gallagher

Cordelia Gallagher

Head Student

Megan Pearson

Megan Pearson

Sports Captain

Maddison Bradley

Academic Leader

Imogen Conroy

Imogen Conroy

Cultural Captain

Maia Hine-Anderson

Maia Hine-Anderson


Ruby Benson

Ruby Cameron

Ngarimu House Captain

Kyle Webster

Kyle Webster

Hillary House Captain

Lei Clark

Lei Clarke

Te Kanawa House Captain

Emma Van Vught

Emma Van Vught

Rutherford House Captain

Year 8 House Captains

Year 6 House Captains


Te Kanawa:



Ngarimu: Ruby Watkinson and Te Aroha-Nui McCawe

Te Kanawa: Ava Johnstone and Ella Morgan

Rutherford: Hugh Jones and Trilese Shorter

Hillary: Zac Smith and Olly Greaves

Senior leadership selection process

Junior leadership selection process

Students complete student leadership application and submit to the principal by the end of Term 3

Applicants are introduced to the student body at assembly at first assembly in Term 4

Students and staff vote on applicants in the first week of Term 4

Where there are multiple applicants for a position the selection panel interviews the applicants second week of Term 4

Student application, votes, and interview responses are used by the panel to select leaders

Leaders are announced at the Values Prize giving

(Kaiwhakahaere is a selected position decision is made by the panel and Matua Kramer)

Students nominate themselves to be house leaders in Week 5 Term 4

Each student presents a speech to their peers Week 7 Term 4

Peers vote on the candidates Week 8 Term 4

Votes are calculated alongside teacher feedback and leaders are selected. Week 8 Term 4

Student Council

Year 10 leadership selection process

Lei Clarke (BoT student representative and Head of Council)

Imogen Conroy

Cordelia Gallagher

Caleb Stanfield

Nathan Scott

Kohine Taua

Ava Johnstone

Ketia Aldworth

Maddison Bradley

Ella Morgan

Katy Taylor

In Year 10 students get the opportunity to experience what it is like to be a senior student leader in Term 4. 

Students nominate themselves to be Year 10 leaders in Week 9 Term 3

Nominated students participate in a leadership activities afternoon with Mr Mann and Mr Donald. Week 10 Term 3

Mr Mann and Mr Donald review nominations and observations to decide on final candidates and select leaders. 

Usually 10 students are selected.